FacebookGoogle PlusInstagramLinkedInTwitter
Presented by State Library Victoria

June Wrap Up

Whelp. So there goes half of 2020, most of which has been spent inside reading and practicing piano, which granted, isn’t a bad thing, I love my music and books, but I also remember when everyone online was so optimistic of 2020 was going to be their year, and then, well let’s see… things happened.

Overall, I had a good reading month, though my Goodreads will state that I had a great reading month where I got through 19 books. Which is a lot and probably sounds more impressive than it should. I did read 3 novellas, I had a DNF as well as several other books that were really short in comparison to the tombs of epic fantasy I generally read. Breaking down into genres, 12 were fantasy: 4 epics, 3 YA, 3 novellas, 1 historical, and 1 absurdist, 5 were contemporary: all of which were YA, 1 sci-fi and 1 classic. I’m aware that the majority of books that I read were fantasy, but like for me, this was actually a fairly diverse month of reading and I read a lot more contemporaries than I normally do. 

I know I didn’t do a wrap up for May, I kinda just didn’t have the energy and am tired with all the stuff going on in the world and as much as we all hate it, that’s life sometimes unfortunately and we can only hope that the world will become equal and fair for everybody. 

Anyways, here are the books I got to in June.

 

Title: Shifting Tides Series(#3 Copper Chain and #4 Iron Will)

Author: James Maxwell

Genre: Fantasy

Book size: Pleasantly short for fantasy.

Thoughts: I found the series as a whole(I read the first two last month) to be fairly average, the characters don’t have much personality and the author honestly picked the easy way out for the ending.

Recommended for: People looking for a fantasy series largely based of Classical Greece.

Final Rating: 6.5/10

 

Title: I Was Born For This

Author: Alice Oseman

Genre: YA/Contemporary

Book size: Normal? I suppose?

Thoughts: So I read this for Between the Pages bookclub and I really loved this the second time around.

Recommended for: For those seeking a good contemporary on boybands, fangirling, and diverse characters.

Final Rating: 9.5/10

 

Title: Red Seas Under Red Skies(Gentlemen Bastads #2)

Author: Scott Lynch

Genre: Epic Fantasy

Book size: This one’s pretty chunky.

Thoughts: I had a really great time reading this. I don’t love it as many do in the fantasy community, but it still is very solid fantasy.

Recommended for: This is like the more adult version of Six of Crows. Featuring incredible friendships and deadly heists.

Final Rating: 8/10

 

Title: Miranda in Milan

Author: Katherine Dukket

Genre: Historical fantasy

Book size: It’s a short story!

Thoughts: I don’t read many short stories but I enjoyed this one and really liked the setting.

Recommended for: Anyone needing something that’s short with magic and a queer love story.

Final Rating: 8/10

 

Title: King of Ashes(Firemane Saga #1)

Author: Raymond E. Feist

Genre: Adult fantasy

Book size: Biggish?

Thoughts: Barf

Recommended for: Just no

Final Rating: 1/10

 

Title: An Enchantment of Ravens

Author: Margaret Rogerson

Genre: YA Fantasy

Book size: On the shorter side of things

Thoughts: After really enjoying Sorcery of Thorns by the same author last year, I was slightly disappointment in this and it featured a lot of bad YA tropes such as instalove.

Recommended for: Those looking for an easy to read fae novel.

Final Rating: 4/10

 

Title: Taking Down Evelyn Tait

Author: Poppy Nwosu

Genre: YA Contemporary

Book size: Fairly short.

Thoughts: I quite liked this even though the main characters weren’t the most likeable people at first.

Recommended for: People wanting to read a good contemporary by an Australian author.

Final Rating: 7/10

 

Title: The Boy Who Steals Houses

Author: C.G Drews

Genre: YA Contemporary

Book size: Not long enough

Thoughts: I loved this so much and everything about it was fantastic and I adored the characters, especially Moxie and I felt so bad for Sam.

Recommended for: Anyone wanting a really solid contemporary, though slight warnings that it can get quite dark.

Final Rating: 10/10

 

Title: Clockwork Princess(The Infernal Devices #3)

Author: Cassandra Clare

Genre: YA Fantasy

Book size: 100 pages longer than it need to be.

Thoughts: I mostly really enjoyed this, though I’m not the biggest fan of love triangles and the ending dragged on for forever. But hey, at least I finally finished the series!

Recommended for: Shadowhunter fans I suppose.

Final Rating: 8/10

 

Title: Every Heart A Doorway(Wayward Children #1)

Author: Seanan McGuire

Genre: Fantasy

Book size: Short

Thoughts: I thought that this was neat and liked the concept of the world, though it didn’t blow me away.

Recommended for: For those looking for a fantasy series consisting of novella length books.

Final Rating: 6/10

 

Title: Empress of a Thousand Skies(Empress of a Thousand Skies #1)

Author: Rhoda Belleza

Genre: YA/Sci-fi

Book size: About average.

Thoughts: I DNF’d this and I just couldn’t really get invested with any of the characters or the plot and ended up being pretty bored unfortunately.

Recommended for: For those looking for a fairly standard YA sci-fi novel.

Final Rating: 1.5/10

 

Title: The Upside of Unrequited 

Author: Becky Albertalli

Genre: YA Contemporary

Book size: I’d say about normal.

Thoughts: I thought this was really nice, with great representation and well thought out characters, despite a tendency that they would be slightly frustrating. 

Recommended for: Anyone that either really enjoyed Simon vs. The Homo-Sapiens Agenda or straight up looking for a good contemporary novel.

Final Rating: 8/10

 

Title: Equal Rites(Discworld #3)

Author: Terry Pratchett

Genre: Absurdist fantasy

Book size: Quite short.

Thoughts: I haven’t loved any of the Discworld novels that I’ve read, but I’m aware the earlier books are weaker. I must say though, these books are weird.

Recommended for: People wanting a fantasy that is way beyond the norm.

Final Rating: 6/10

 

Title: 1984

Author: George Orwell

Genre: Dystopian/Classic

Book size: A lot longer than Animal Farm.

Thoughts: I thought that this was great and that it still remains relevant when looking at totalitarian societies and at how governments do seize power. Now, I know this was before this was a thing, but the instalove in this was more instalovey than a YA fantasy.

Recommended for: Anybody looking for a classic dystopian novel.

Final Rating: 8/10

 

Title: Ash Princess(Ash Princess Trilogy #1)

Author: Laura Sebastian

Genre: YA fantasy.

Book size: It’s creeping towards the lengthier side of things, but still within that ‘normal’ range.

Thoughts: Despite it having lots of typical YA tropes, it utilised them well, so that it wasn’t actually boring to read, even though it was slightly predictable.

Recommended for: A reasonably standard YA fantasy series that is well written.

Final Rating: 8/10

 

Title: How It Feels to Float

Author: Helena Fox

Genre: YA Contemporary

Book size: Comfortably sitting in the average bracket in terms of book size.

Thoughts: I really liked the use of language and really liked many of the characters, though the middle part of the book did drag slightly.

Recommended for: Anyone wanting to read a book by an Australian author that is #ownvoices that includes characters who are LGBTQIA+ and are dealing with mental illness.

Final Rating: 8/10

 

Title: The Night Circus

Author: Erin Morgenstern.

Genre: Fantasy

Book size: Both longer and shorter then it needed to be.

Thoughts: It is an incredibly atmospheric and magical novel, that features the most boring characters, a completely pointless plot that jumps everywhere and instalove that is meant to not feel like instalove though it clearly still is.

Recommended for: Anyone wanting to read a book solely for its pretty descriptions.

Final Rating: 4/10

 

Title: A Court of Frost and Starlight(A Court of Thorns and Roses #3.1)

Author: Sarah J. Mass

Genre: New Adult/Fantasy

Book size: Short

Thoughts: I was oddly nostalgic coming back to this world after two years and while this novella wasn’t as bad as people led me to believe, it was still pretty boring and was essentially one long epilogue.

Recommended for: Fans of ACOTAR and Sarah J. Mass

Final Rating: 5.5/10

Take care everyone, stay home in you’re in Victoria, keep signing petitions, and stay safe out there!

6 comments

guppy

Well here's a whole heap more to add to my tbr! And what's better, the holidays mean that I have time to read it all!

On another note though, it's sad that An Enchantment of Ravens didn't turn out. I was actually looking forward to reading it cause I liked Sorcery of Thorns... oh well... You can't win every time...

2nd Jul, 20
zitongbooks

Yeah, I really enjoyed Sorcery of Thorns too, but like you say, oh well. I hope you are able to get to some good books during the holidays!

2nd Jul, 20
inky State Library Victoria

Great month of reading! Looks like I have to get myself a copy of The Boy Who Steals Houses ASAP! I read The End of the World is Bigger Than Love by Davina Bell and it is breathtakingly amazing.

3rd Jul, 20
zitongbooks

The Boy Who Steals Houses is amazing! I’ve haven’t heard of The End of the World is Bigger Than Love before but it sounds interesting!

3rd Jul, 20
suhani

I love George Orwell's 1984, it's so creative!

5th Jul, 20
zitongbooks

It certainly is!

6th Jul, 20